Gap Series Book Review: Exploring The Fascinating World Of Science Fiction

Gap Series Book Review: Exploring The Fascinating World Of Science Fiction
My Novels,,,the "Gap" series 2017 from


The GAP series, written by acclaimed science fiction author Stephen R. Donaldson, has captivated readers with its unique blend of space opera and psychological depth. Set in a distant future where humanity has colonized countless star systems, this thrilling saga delves into the complexities of human nature, power struggles, and the consequences of our actions.

The Storyline

The GAP series consists of five books: “The Real Story,” “Forbidden Knowledge,” “A Dark and Hungry God Arises,” “Chaos and Order,” and “This Day All Gods Die.” The story revolves around a handful of central characters, each with their own distinct motivations and secrets.

The Characters

One of the series’ most compelling characters is Angus Thermopyle, a former pirate who becomes entangled in a web of political intrigue. Morn Hyland, a police officer turned victim, is another key player whose journey takes unexpected turns. Nick Succorso, a pirate captain, and Warden Dios, a mysterious figure with a hidden agenda, further add to the complexity of the narrative.

The Themes

The GAP series tackles a variety of thought-provoking themes. One of the central themes is the exploration of power and its corrupting influence. Donaldson expertly examines the consequences of unchecked power and the lengths people will go to maintain it.

Another prominent theme is the nature of redemption and forgiveness. The characters in the series are flawed and make morally questionable decisions, but they also have opportunities for redemption and growth. The exploration of these themes adds depth and emotional resonance to the story.

Why You Should Read the GAP Series

The GAP series stands out as a masterpiece in the science fiction genre. Donaldson’s writing style is rich and immersive, drawing readers into a vividly imagined universe. The characters are complex and multi-dimensional, allowing readers to deeply connect with their struggles and triumphs.

The series also excels in its examination of human psychology and morality. Donaldson delves into the darkest corners of the human mind, exploring the motivations behind our actions and the consequences they have on ourselves and others. This introspective approach sets the GAP series apart from other space operas.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Can I start reading the GAP series from any book?

No, it is recommended to start with the first book, “The Real Story,” as it sets the foundation for the subsequent books and introduces important characters and plotlines.

2. Are there any other books by Stephen R. Donaldson I should read?

Absolutely! Donaldson is also known for his highly acclaimed “The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant” series, which is a must-read for fans of epic fantasy.

3. Is the GAP series suitable for young readers?

The GAP series contains mature themes, violence, and strong language, making it more suitable for adult readers or mature young adults.

4. Does the series have a satisfying ending?

Yes, the series concludes with the fifth book, “This Day All Gods Die,” providing a satisfying resolution to the overarching storylines and character arcs.

5. Will there be more books in the GAP series?

As of now, there are no plans for additional books in the GAP series. However, Stephen R. Donaldson continues to write and publish other captivating works of science fiction and fantasy.

Leave a Reply